Dessert in a Jiffy

Ever find yourself rummaging through your pantry, kitchen or fridge wanting to make a quick dessert for some guests? Okay it might just be me, but when there’s people over for a meal, I love being able to serve them dessert. Even if it’s just a scoop of ice cream or some slices of fruit, I think dessert always finishes off a meal on a good note. Bonus points if the dessert is something you actually prepared! The dessert that has become my go-to if I want something more exciting than plain fruit (which don’t get me wrong, is delicious!), am craving the extra sugary calories, and goes well with old ice cream in my freezer is…*insert fruit name* crumble! Easy peezy, semi-nutritious, sweet, quick and can be served straight out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
IMG_1454
Yes my friends, this is all you need! I didn’t even measure ANYTHING. Okay that’s partially because this is all the brown sugar and flour I had left…but it turned out to be quite the perfect amount! Equal portions brown sugar, flour and oats with a dash of cinnamon and 1/2 stick of cold unsalted butter cubes, mixed together with your bare hands just until they’re combined, then placed on top of apples that have a bit of lemon juice and sugar on them.

Into the oven it goes for around 35 minutes at 350 degrees F and voila!
IMG_1455
You get this piping hot, apple & pear crumble!

IMG_1456
Served best with a scoop (or three) of vanilla bean ice cream, of course!

Leave a Reply

