Gingerbread Fellas

This weekend, I trekked to the 626 area to visit my good friend Michelle in Arcadia. We both share a genuine love of food and its creation and consumption so I knew that we would be doing a lot of both. To get some inspiration for what to do, we watched his slightly dumb and mildly funny video about the 626 (click at your own risk). Unfortunately we didn’t end up at any of the places mentioned in the video (except for a crappy Half & Half Tea House in San Gabriel Valley) and decided to get Pho instead. Read my Yelp review later!

Before we left for dinner, we decided what to bake that night and threw out ideas like French macarons (which is simple ingredients, all technique like leaving out egg whites for 24 hours), apple pie, bûche de noël (yule logs!), creme brulee, pot de creme, gingerbread cookies, and other things we had never made before. (Yes we both have never made apple pie or gingerbread cookies before). We decided to make gingerbread cookies and a chocolate bûche de noël! Two indecisive girls deciding what to make took an hour, and finding recipes for two things took another hour. Whenever I bake, I take my sweet time brainstorming for what I’m about to make and come up with a plan of attack. I browse various sites and read and compare each recipe I find for nuances and how those small differences affect the end product. Someone said this once but I agree that anyone can bake (I don’t know about cook) with the right recipe and a very basic knowledge of technique! Okay enough of my storytelling – if you’ve read this far, kudos to you! Anyways, Michelle and I found this gingerbread cookie recipe on foodgawker  and chose it because it was simple and had a reasonable combination of spices. The blogger also mentions that this cookie is of a gingersnap taste and sugar cookie softness which sounded perfect.

DSC_0030
All of these spices + salt & pepper are in these gingerbread cookies!

DSC_0034
This is one of those doughs that you have to refrigerate for an hour before rolling out, so plan accordingly. Also, be forewarned that this dough smells really funky and looks like a lump of poop upon refrigeration. But fear not for these cookies taste great!

DSC_0037
Everything is much more adorable in miniature form!

DSC_0038
Our different cookies before baking.

DSC_0054
I made a royal icing for us to decorate the cookies with. Royal icing is just sifted powdered sugar, meringue powder (or egg whites) and a liquid (water, lemon juice, milk – depends on your taste).

DSC_0056 Gingerbread family hehe

DSC_0061
DSC_0062
This turned out to be a wonderful recipe!

DSC_0057
And I shall end this post with my favorite gingerbread fella, lil’ French painter. He is French because I say so. Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

